Don’t forget about you!

student-849825_640

 

It’s that time a year for many of us that everything seems to get hectic and overwhelming. School begins for some of us, and as the holiday season approaches things get busy. It’s important that in these times we don’t forget about ourselves.

Here are a few ways to keep your sanity during a busy season:

1) Take time to pamper yourself

This may seem difficult to do when you’re already busy but it’s as simple as taking a bubble bath and sipping on hot tea alone. Self-care is so refreshing.

2) Exercise

Find time to fit this into your schedule even if It’s just 30 minutes a few days a week. When your body feels good you feel good.

3) Make time for the things you enjoy doing

Whatever it may be, whether it’s writing, singing, dancing, or just reading a good book, make time for the things you love. When you get busy sometimes you neglect these things and forget how good they make you feel.

As things kick into gear remember to make time for you! I definitely plan to.

5 thoughts on “Don’t forget about you!

  1. We seem to share the feeling that a new year begins in the fall – remnants of so many years at school, I suppose. I still feel a bit of a rush when the notebooks and school supplies take over my local drug store.

    I was struck by your page about your longing for family (outside of the 3 of you, of course). I want to encourage you to reach out to the blogging community while you seek your “tribe” – your adopted family — especially the writers and a few of the disabilities advocates that comment on my blog (and I on theirs). They are a very supportive bunch who have become a family of sorts for me, as we slowly get to know each other through our back and forth banter in the comment sections of each others’ blogs. I am currently living in a city where I am essentially alone, and this has been an important sense of connection for me.

    As you no doubt are aware already, few of us had it easy growing up, however it may look from the outside. Those big families in your fantasies might not be any you’d wish to be a part of if you could see them from the inside. I have no idea how much the fact that you are an inter-racial couple plays into things these days, but you will no doubt develop friendships with other young couples with children and your lives will merge, most likely through the friendships of your children. It will happen.

    The philosophers chalk up our underlying sense of loneliness to existential angst – but I don’t think it’s as simple as that. I think we are “hard-wired” to crave a sense of belonging, and not only during holiday celebrations that are family focused. You will create that sense of family for your son – and that will be healing for you as well. From what I’ve read on your blog, you seem to be what they call “an old soul” – and I’m sure you will attract others who are similar. Meanwhile, enjoy your little family and relish your own holiday traditions.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Like

    1. I so sincerely appreciate this comment! I can never shake the feeling of loneliness and I’ve never felt like I belong anywhere. While I may be wrong, I feel like many of those around me are lucky enough to have known (at least at some point in their life) what that feels like and I never have. Especially coming from a broken and abusive home and being on the streets a lot. Its hard not to feel lonely.
      I so enjoy finding other bloggers who really enjoy reading, writing and engaging with others online and I’m still looking for more female bloggers to connect with. I’m grateful you came across this blog and these connections are just as important to me as they are to you.
      Thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re very welcome. I have a Loneliness Epidemic Series on my blog – the second one [“Sliding into Loneliness”] may resonate more than a bit and make you feel less like The Lone Ranger (search box at top of site).

        Your background sounds like it was beyond difficult, but it also sounds like you’ve been amazing at rising above it. You can rise above loneliness too. Focus on your family and take some steps to reach out. “When You’re Longing for Connection” offers a few tips.
        xx,
        mgh

        Like

      2. I’ll have to go check it out! Thanks so much, I appreciate all your kind words and I’m so glad you are taking time to read through some of my posts!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

