Back to School Tips for Moms!

Being a mommy is a full-time job and a challenge for you and your little one! Here are a few tried and true tips from me to you!

mommyblogger

A little background on me. I started my undergrad in 2011. I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do and I wasn’t mature enough to fully focus on class and coursework.

Needless to say I didn’t do so well in the beginning.

I ended up meeting my husband, getting married, falling into depression, losing a family member and ultimately dropping out. I found out I was pregnant shortly after and my husband and I decided to have the baby abroad in his home country of Belgium.

Last summer I returned with my little one to finish my undergraduate degree. I had time to mature and really decide what I wanted for my future. My son was my biggest motivator.

Being a mommy and full-time student is NOT easy, but I came back and made the best grades I’ve had since being in college.

Here are my tricks:

Find childcare that you trust!

This is one of the most important things. You won’t be able to focus in classes if you’re worried about your little one the entire time, though that’s perfectly normal. If you have family that can watch your child I suggest that, though for me that was not an option.

Finding reliable (and affordable) childcare is one the hardest yet best things to do as a student mommy. Once you know for sure your child is in good hands and well taken care of you will be able to fully focus on doing well in your classes.

Prioritize!

Don’t procrastinate! Between taking care of your little one and managing assignments you don’t have much time to slack off. Use a planner and organize things in order of most to least important or you can organize by dates ( like I do). If you can manage, get assignments done in advance this leaves more time for if emergencies or events arise with your children. (appointments, sickness etc.)

Plan study time accordingly!

If you have childcare while you are in classes and you manage to have any breaks during the day, use those breaks to study notes from class. This will help you later when you’re home trying to study for tests but your little one wants to play (lol). If you must, spend a little time after your little one is in bed for the night doing assignments and reading class notes.

MyPlannerEDITED

(My current planner)^^

Don’t be afraid to ask for help!

It really does take a village to raise a child. If you have people there to support you take advantage of that. My husband has been my biggest support, he will often use my study time as a way to have daddy-son time with our little one. Whoever is there and willing to support you, reach out. You will need help from time to time, and that is ok!

Do what works for YOU!

A lot of people will try to tell you what to do, and while I’m sharing what works for me the best thing you can do is find what works for you. Between scheduling, childcare and studying, finding that balance will be an important part of your overall student success.

Don’t beat yourself up!

There are so many times when I feel like I’m hardly giving my child the attention he deserves, but try not to let these negative thoughts hinder you. It’s hard and sometimes you will feel like a terrible mommy or terrible student. Sometimes you might feel crazy, but don’t give up. It’s worth it in the end!

I hope this helps some of you and have a great school year!

 

5 thoughts on “Back to School Tips for Moms!

  1. Well done – great tips for anyone attempting to manage two competing priorities in life, actually. I especially liked “do what works for you.” (I began this article on MyTrendingStories and jumped over here to read the rest, btw.)

    How do you like blogging for them? I am considering it and wondered how some of the other bloggers managed writing for more than one blog. It seems from this article that they have no problems beginning a post on their platform and sending people to the author’s blog. Do they merely tolerate or actually support it?

    I would appreciate any info — and feel free to respond by email if you prefer. Put “response re: TrendingStories” in the subject line if you do that so I see it quickly in the e-glut and don’t inadvertently delete it as spam.

    You can also leave a comment underneath any of my posts on ADDandSoMuchMore (I must approve comments before they are posted to the site, so if you don’t want it public simply let me know at the top and I won’t approve). Thanks in advance.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Like

    1. Wow, thanks for reading. I’m so glad you enjoyed this post. Concerning My trending stories, I enjoy the idea behind the site but I wish the website was a bit different in terms of design. I like that it brings together a community of writers and I’ve found great articles on there. When I joined I was told they encourage us to promote our own blogs and look forward to watching us build our own platforms. Honestly it would probably also help their site so I don’t think it’s an issue at all.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. How wonderful you are to respond – and so quickly. I would also change the design – but I suppose they will continue to work on it as things grow.

        I’ve read only a few articles in a couple of “topics” – and I’ve been generally impressed by the quality of the writing. Is it difficult (or time consuming) to post on their platform, or is it similar to blogging on WordPress.com?
        xx,
        mgh

        Like

      2. It’s different but not difficult, I prefer WordPress but its easier to find other writers with similar styles there than here. Mostly because I don’t know where to look on WordPress to find other writers yet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

