Post Election Blues: It’s over for you but not for me.

postelectionblues

I’ve tried to avoid this topic since learning the results. I’ve experienced a combination of terrible emotions since election day but today I’ve just accepted that this is an honest depiction of what America represents from my perspective today.

Allow me to elaborate. As a black female born in raised in the deep south I’ve become accustomed to ignorance, intolerance and bigotry. Christianity was pushed down my throat by the same people who made it very clear that my skin color was an issue and made me inferior in their eyes. I’ve received disapproving stares, threats, insults all because of the skin I was born with and yet my experiences are still minimized by those who’ve never lived any of this.

For me this election was proof of what I already knew.

America prides itself on being a nation of immigrants a melting pot but lets be clear. America was never great… at least never for people like me. You see, when my grandmother was my age it was illegal for her to marry a white man like I did, in fact she could not even attend school with white children nor could she even use the same bathroom. That was not very long ago. We like to pretend we are all afforded to same opportunities and that we are all treated the same but we are not.

I could go into detail explaining my experiences as a female and minority or tell the stories of other marginalized groups who have suffered in this country but this election has also shown me that people don’t want to understand simply because it doesn’t affect them and never will.

I will stop focusing on those who are unwilling to change and focus my attention on those who are willing to learn about and love those who are different. The only way we can truly make a difference is if we begin to take time to understand one another.

Some of us have very real anxieties and fears. If you won’t take the time to listen and understand them know that someday there will come a time when things change for you too. I do believe that everything happens for a reason, good or bad.

I have little faith in humans but I know there is something greater than all of us. We can waste time fighting each other over minor differences but we will have wasted what little time we have on this earth and that is truly sad.

I hope that one day we can come together but sadly that isn’t what I see.

The elections are over now and we have little control over what happens next but what we do have control over is how we treat each other. I’ve been attacked and I have attacked others with my words out of frustration, fear and anxiety. I’ve watched people spew their hate back and forth and I’m tired. It’s completely pointless.

We may be different complexions, genders, religions… we may even be attracted to different types of people but we all bleed the same. We all have dreams, fears and concerns. We are all born and we will all die. So lets make the time we have worthwhile and stop fighting one another.

Understand that some of us are very scared and that’s okay. We each have reasons for why we feel the way we do based on our personal experiences. There comes a time when we have to look at the grand scheme of things and realize how small we are in this universe and how many things we aren’t accomplishing because of our divisions.

I hope this country can be great one day but right now I do not see that.

4 thoughts on “Post Election Blues: It’s over for you but not for me.

  1. I see we think alike on the fallout of this terrible election! Great post! I think if we start out agreeing that America is not anywhere near great then we have completed half the battle! Where we all differ is what it will take to make America great! Thank you for addressing that fear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

