Sick for the Holidays? Try these!

It’s that time of year! The Christmas trees are getting set up and you are probably getting ready to prepare Holiday dinner but uh oh… you start to sneeze, cough and sniffle.

Yea, it’s THAT time of year too!

I’ve been a little under the weather for the past couple of days and since I’m a rebel and hate over the counter meds (or any other pharmaceutical for that matter) I’m going to share some NATURAL remedies to help you deal with that Holiday cold!

GINGER TEA

bowl-336538_640

Ginger is one of the healthiest things you can consume. The root originated in China and has long been used for medical purposes. Some of it’s uses are to treat nausea (pregnant mamas remember this), helps with digestion, helps fight the flu and common colds and has numerous other benefits.

When I’m really sick my husband will go purchase ginger root (found at most health food stores and local grocery stores) cut it into bits and boil it in water. I then pour the water into a mug and I like to add honey and lemon (I’ll get to that later).

Ginger has quite a STRONG taste so be prepared for that but after a day or so of drinking this I feel much better.

   LEMON WATER

water-1187656_1280

With tons of Vitamin C lemons are great for reducing symptoms of colds and flu. It also reduces the gross phlegm that comes with many colds.

You can add it to water or tea and drink it hot or cold but I would suggest adding it to a hot beverage especially if you have a sore throat or lots of mucus.

I prefer adding it to my teas and drinking it hot but adding it to warm water is great too! Drinking it warm helps break up the mucus making it easier to cough it out and rid it from the body.

 GREEN TEA

cup-2176_640

So this one has to be one of my favorites! Green tea is filled with antioxidants and also has antiviral properties that helps fight off sickness.

I tend to buy the Yogi brand and once again I drink mine warm with honey and fresh lemon. I can immediately feel the difference especially when I have a sore throat. Drinking it warm always helps me breathe better when I’m congested.

  A FEW OTHER TIPS

Here are a few things other things I do that help me feel better when I’m sick.

1) STEAM

This helps me breathe when I’m feeling really congested and full in my nasal area. It also relieves those sinus headaches that come with it.

Hot showers are my favorite but if you don’t want to use too much water I’d also suggest boiling water in a pot and putting your head over it with a warm towel. It provides temporary relieve but it’s refreshing to be able to breathe even for a few minutes.

2) TILT YOUR HEAD BACK

This one may sound strange at first but it works for me. I will sometimes lean my head slightly off the edge of my bed or couch and massage my forehead/bridge of my nose upward toward my hairline. It really helps the drainage and relieves some of the fullness.

     3) GARLIC/MULLEIN OIL

Ever get that annoying scratchy throat feeling?  Use a few drops of this oil in each ear and that feeling goes away! It’s also great when you feel like you have fluid in your ears. I prefer this remedy to antihistamines any day.

4) GET REST

I know that can be hard during the Holidays but try your best, even if it’s just a power nap here or there.

I hope these tips help so you can enjoy the holiday season without being stuck in bed!

Let me know your tips and tricks in the comments below or comment if you’ve tried any  of the above tips!

4 thoughts on “Sick for the Holidays? Try these!

Leave a Reply

