The Christmas Tag

I love seeing what everyone enjoys around Christmas time so I thought I’d join in and share my Christmas favorites as well.

What is your favorite Christmas movie?

Mine would definitely be How The Grinch Stole Christmas. It just never gets old. I like both the original and the Jim Carrey version.

grinch

What is your favorite Christmas song?

Michael Buble’s “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas” Is definitely my favorite. I mean who doesn’t love Michael Buble’s Christmas album?

michaelbuble

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Fake. I live in a tiny apartment and it’s just more convenient. Plus it’s nice to just pack it up in my closet and save it for next year.

What is your favorite holiday food?

Cheesecake. It’s my favorite for every occasion.

What would be your dream place to visit during the holidays?

New York City! I will make that trip one day!

nyc-1556338_640

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Once that I can remember in 2012, the year I got married which was perfect. I made a 6 foot snowman!

Do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?

I try waiting until Christmas day but I am not very patient so usually I open one or two on Christmas Eve.

What holiday traditions are you looking forward to?

I don’t really have any so I’m working to create my own with my own little family. I haven’t come up with any good ideas yet.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Short answer is no. I do remember Rudolph and I’m sure there are a few whose names begin with “D” but I can’t remember.

Well guys that’s the end of my Christmas Tag! If you haven’t done this tag already you should (though I am sure there are more questions). Also comment below with some of your Holiday favorites!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

blogsignature

4 thoughts on “The Christmas Tag

  1. **Movies:** anything old, like Miracle on 34th Street, White Christmas, A Christmas Carol
    **Tunes & Albums:** waay too many to list, but I adore the West Coast Jazz score to A Charlie Brown Christmas, anything from the Nutcracker Suite, The Pointer Sisters’ There Ain’t Nuthin’ Like a Christmas in New York, most of the offerings of Mannheim SteamRoller, the gorgeous chorale of Christmas from Claire, The Temptation’s version of Rudolph the Red
    **Tree** Fake – it stays up to long for ANY live tree to remain intact
    **Food** English Trifle
    **Place** NYC where I lived for 20 years. I miss it like a lover, *especially* at Christmas
    **White Chrismas?** MANY
    **Present-fest** 12th Nite (Epiphany – January 6th – for tons of ADD reasons)
    **Traditions to repeat this year** Candlelight Christmas Eve service
    **Reindeer** but of course! I sing the song that names them: Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet and Cupid, and Donder and Blixen — Rudolph is a 20th-century newbie, an addition to the original eight.

    GREAT idea for a post. I’ll be linking to it shortly.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Christmas is the BEST time in NYC. If you want to avoid crowds (even long lines) in front of the amazing windows, go for Thanksgiving. Since the Macy’s parade brings Santa at the end, ALL the windows must be ready *immediately* – so of course that means “before” (though many only unveil after Santa arrives).

        English Trifle is a layered sponge-cake and vanilla pudding concoction, often flavored with sherry and including fruit – raspberries in some versions, apricots in others. Google it – I’m sure there are photos, and probably a recipe. Its a beautiful looking dessert.

        My Mom adapted a quickie version using purchased pound cake which she sliced to line a special crystal bowl. Then she sprinkled the apricot mixture she favored with sherry flavoring to make it more kid-friendly (even tho’ it was a bit sophisticated for the taste buds of the younger kids). She only made it at Christmas, and I repeated the custom MANY years when I lived in NYC.

        It doesn’t keep well, so you need to make it when you are expecting company to help you eat it all up ASAP.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

